Back To News

AWOB Introduces Finalists for Crystal Star Awards

The Alliance of Women Owned Businesses’ monthly Power Series for April is set to introduce nine finalists for the bi-annual Crystal Star Awards to members and guests on Wednesday, April 23. The event will be held at The Inn at Gig Harbor from 5 to 6:30 pm. It will present the finalists as a panel, and will offer each finalist the chance to tell something of their business and personal history, then respond to questions posed by panel moderator and AWOB Vice President Lynn Jabs. It is free and open to the public, and will be followed by a ticketed reception and an opportunity to meet and talk to finalists, sponsors and the judges whose decision will be announced at the Crystal Star Gala on May 15.

This year’s finalists include:
Crystal Star Award, acknowledging the outstanding role a woman has played over the years in enhancing the status of all women business owners through her creative vision, determination, success, and leadership in her business and community:
Lianna Collinge, Association Management Inc., Gig Harbor
Laura Day – Moran, Harbor Audiology & Hearing Services, Inc. Gig Harbor
Mary Lynn Pannen, Sound Options Inc., Tacoma
Rising Star Award, honoring a woman entrepreneur, who has owned her business for less than five years, and is already showing the persistence, tenacity and leadership to make a difference in her business and community:
Sarah Friesen, Gig Harbor Home Management, Gig Harbor
Kelle Kitchel-Cooper, The Rockfish Group, Poulsbo
Lynnae Schneller, Lynnae’s Gourmet Pickles, Tacoma
Shining Star Award, recognizing a current AWOB Alliance member and business woman who contributes to the mission and vision of AWOB as well as shining her own entrepreneurial light:
Margit Glenn, Visionarch LLC, Port Orchard
Dyann Lyon, Whole Health by Design, Tacoma
Janet Vitcovich, A Blessing to Serve, Gig Harbor
The Crystal Star Awards Program honors women business owners who inspire, open doors and make a difference today and tomorrow. Tickets for the reception and for the Crystal Star Awards Gala are available on line at
(NOTE: Individual photos of all finalists and their bios are available

Nancy Hohenstein